--VQ-- Site Admin

Joined: 06 Jan 2003 Posts: 590
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:31 am Post subject: vqSA appears to be open relay to in-house blacklist test |
|
|
Question (from Ray Vanpraag at webhost Candylogic)
I started to get this error. Our mail server is rejecting mail forwarded to us by the vq appliance because it believes that something isn't configured correctly.
| Quote: | This is the qmail-send program at vq.xyzlogic.com.
I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up.
69.xx.xx.xx does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 554 Service unavailable; Client host [vq.xyzlogic.com] blocked using list.dsbl.org; The server you're sending mail to is misconfigured: it uses IP-based blocklist(s) as NAME-based ones
Giving up on 69.xx.xx.xx. |
Answer
The error message cites the block-list DSBL.ORG and states that your vqSA is "using IP-based blocklist(s) as NAME-based ones." This is an incorrect reject message. Your vqSA does not use any block lists. So we set about finding out why your server was blocked. The answer is quite remarkable - and it requires quick action...
The black list that you susbcribe to, DSBL.ORG, runs a distributed applet on your own server to help find and report open relays. That applet tests the servers that send mail into your network.
You have not excluded your vq.candylogic server from the test! That server is used as an internal trusted-only relay, but the DSBL agent does not realize that it is a local resource on your own network, and that outsiders cannot use it as an open relay.
This result can be catastrophic (and ironic), because your own server is feeding the worldwide blacklist DSBL.ORG. That is, you are informing them that you have discovered a spammer -- and the bad guy is you!
Recommendation
Currently, you are reporting your own server to "the authorities"! Either exclude your vqSA from the open-relay test, or teach the test to pass over the vqSA header, or alternatively stop using the in-house open-relay test. |
|